1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How mass affects projectile motion

1. Jun 7, 2010 #1
    Hi, I am a mechanical engineering student and I am currently taking Dynamics.

We have been assigned a project that basically revolves around the dynamics of a vacuum cannon. The cannon we have designed shoots ping-pong balls and we have found that shooting the balls without any added mass will make the ball travel in random directions and go a short distance. We also found that when mass was added it shot over a 100 yards. I can only assume that is due to the balls mass and its relationship with air resistance.

Basically my question is how can I determine the optimal mass of the ping-pong ball to make it travel the furthest distance.

Anything would help because I am having trouble finding thing online.

Thanks A Lot

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 7, 2010 #2
    I think you are right is saying that air resistance is the key factor here. Air drag can be quite complicated to calculate from first principles. Here is a wikipedia link to get started:

You have two extremes. On the one hand is the ping pong ball with low mass. By Newton's second law we know that a = F/m. Since the air drag does not depend on the mass of the ball, the lower the mass the higher the acceleration (or deceleration).

On the other hand if your mass is too large, the force of the cannon is the limiting factor. Again a = F/m (where F is the force from the cannon), but now you want to maximize the acceleration.