1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much studying is enough for persuing TF

1. Jul 20, 2014 #1
    Hello everyone,

I'm 17 years old and I've recently quitted computer gaming and persued a secondary interest which is physics in general (mostly Theoretical physics).

I'm studying 6-10 hours a day physics (if it is not a school day) and the particular book I'm using is including these chapters:

1. The physics world.
    2. Phycisists view of the world.
    3. Movement.
    4. Newtons laws.
    5. Energy.
    6: A chapter about momentum and impulse laws.
    7. Thermodynamics/thermophysics.
    8. Climate and weather.
    9. Electricity.
    10. The modern physics progression.
    11. Nuclear physics.
    12. Relativity and the standardmodell.

My question is, is it worth studying these chapters? It's on a basic level as I'm currently in HS right now. Also is it enough to study 6-10 hours a day with physics? I really do wanna become a theoretical phycisist. Or is it simply enough too little of study time?

I can rush through one chapter in maybe 12 - 20 hours, should I just buy a book about theoretical physics instead of working through this one or is it essential that I gather the superficial knowledge this one has to offer me (not very superficial as there's many complex questions)?

Also I do usually have trouble knowing the correct answer to a question so I look it through the internet to learn about it, is this a common problem for you? And how do I overcome that habit?

Sorry for bombarding this post with questions.

//DM

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2014 #2