Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to make a device which is "Reverse solenoid"

1. Sep 18, 2015 #1
    Hi Everyone,

This is Sentil from India. I'm a professional in the field of commerce. But i love science!! then the obvious question "Why /How did you end up in Commerce". Thats really a long story.

But today im here to get help on one of the side projects i am into to develop something like "solenoid in reverse". That is, i want to generate some power from the solenoid by mechanically moving the plunger of the solenoid.

I did some basic web research ( i still do ) and together with my lil elementary science knowledge, i understood how solenoid works and what is the principle and all the theory part. but i cant find anything on this " Solenoid in reverse" or "reverse solenoid" ( not sure if im confusing you guys. this device is suppose to work just like "linear alternators") like no of turns of copper wire, how powerful should be the magnet, what should be the speed at which this magnet should move to and fro to cut the magnetic flux and generate output power.

It would be very help if somebody could help me with these doubts and help me build one.

Looking forward to hear from you all..!!

Thanks
    Sentil

P.S:- Do i need to post this somewhere else?

Last edited: Sep 18, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2015 #2

Bystander

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

4. Sep 18, 2015 #3
  5. Sep 18, 2015 #4
    To generate some power from the solenoid by mechanically moving the plunger of the solenoid the solenoid has to be a magnet..

6. Sep 18, 2015 #5

Bystander

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

From the pictures, the "antiques" are probably conventional rotary type dynamos with "slipping" linear actuators. I couldn't pass up Wiley Coyote and the Roadrunner, though.