Cell Biology: What Makes Molecules Hydrophobic & Hydrophilic?

• Thread starter uio
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Molecules
In summary, a hydrophobic molecule does not interact with water molecules due to its non-polar nature, while a hydrophilic molecule interacts well with water molecules due to its polar nature. A molecule is hydrophobic if it is non-polar and has a low affinity for water, while a molecule is hydrophilic if it is polar and has a high affinity for water. In a cell, hydrophobic and hydrophilic molecules work together to form the cell membrane, with hydrophobic tails facing inwards and hydrophilic heads facing outwards. This allows the cell membrane to control the movement of molecules in and out of the cell.
uio
Hi

I'm currently studying cell biology, and I'm reading about the hydrophobic parts of the plasma membrane of the animal cell. But I'm wondering, what exactly makes a molecule hydrophilic or hydrophobic? What is the chemistry behind it, and how can I tell which molecules are which? I know that lipids and certain proteins are hydrophobic, but I can't understand why.

Thanks.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
When a molecule (or a part of a long molecule) is polar (i.e., it has a significant dipole moment), it can attract a water molecule through a dipole-dipole interaction. That is usually what makes it hydrophilic.

I can provide some insight into the chemistry behind hydrophobic and hydrophilic molecules. The terms hydrophobic and hydrophilic refer to a molecule's ability to interact with water. Hydrophobic molecules are nonpolar, meaning they have a relatively equal distribution of electrons and do not have a positive or negative charge. These molecules are typically made up of mainly carbon and hydrogen atoms, and they do not have the ability to form hydrogen bonds with water molecules. This results in a repulsion between the hydrophobic molecule and water, causing them to clump together and avoid contact with water.