I feel sick from my biologist friend

• Thread starter celebrei
  • Start date
In summary: I majored in Zoology (for pre-med/pre-dent), and got MORE interested in physics--partly due to the physics teachers, and the ones who said, "We don't know why/what/how those things work"Well, Einstein's SR and GR did supersede Newton's F=ma and Law of universal gravitation in precision and range of effectiveness (although, F=dp/dt still works). I, myself wouldn't call that "destroyed", but I can see where he's coming from...Newton is my source of inspiration and i love physics.Newton is my source of inspiration and i love physics.
celebrei
I have a friend who is a major in biology and he asked me why Newtonian physics is still being taught in higschool and college since he said Einstein "destroyed" (yes that was his term) Newtonian physics, and I said "you should stick to biology" and went home sick from hearing it...:yuck:

Physics news on Phys.org
You should have said Darwin was wrong and evolution is "just a theory".

Cyrus said:
You should have said Darwin was wrong and evolution is "just a theory".

lol, yeah! that would have spited him :rofl:

I can't even count the times biologist friends have made me barf, but it was for completely different reasons. I'm not sure we should allow them in polite company.

Math Is Hard said:
I can't even count the times biologist friends have made me barf, but it was for completely different reasons. I'm not sure we should allow them in polite company.
I just learned the gastro-intestinal tract is considered part of the outside of the body. Biologists don't consider them inside till they cross a tissue wall.

zoobyshoe said:
I just learned the gastro-intestinal tract is considered part of the outside of the body. Biologists don't consider them inside till they cross a tissue wall.
I can't imagine a mathematician would consider it "inside" either.