How Do You Calculate the Initial Velocity of a Tennis Ball Thrown at an Angle?

In summary, the problem involves a tennis ball being thrown from ground level at an angle of 30 degrees above the horizontal. The question asks for the magnitude of the initial velocity, which is simply the initial speed of the ball. The ball takes 1 second to reach the top of its trajectory, and therefore its speed at that point is momentarily zero. Using the acceleration due to gravity (9.8m/s^2), we can calculate the initial velocity to be approximately 9.8m/s, taking into account the angle of 30 degrees.
Haniszmi

Homework Statement

A tennis ball is thrown from ground level with an initial velocity directed 30° above the horizontal. If it takes the ball 1 second to reach the top of its trajectory, what is the magnitude of the initial velocity?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I am new to physics and the only attempt I made towards this problem is a visual drawing of the problem. I do not understand what they mean by "what is the magnitude of the initial velocity?" Can someone please explain what I have to find here

Physics news on Phys.org
"what is the magnitude of the initial velocity?"

It simply means 'What is the initial speed?'

Velocity is a vector, which means it is a magnitude (size) AND a direction (30 degrees from horiz). Speed is a scalar, which means it only has magnitude, not direction.

You simply need to worry about the initial speed, and not the initial direction.

Ok... I understand what you told me and using what you told me my first gut reaction is to say that the answer is 0. Since the ball is not moving anywhere initially. Is this valid?

Haniszmi said:
Ok... I understand what you told me and using what you told me my first gut reaction is to say that the answer is 0. Since the ball is not moving anywhere initially. Is this valid?

No.

If it takes 1 second to reach the top then how high is that?