1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying I want to learn a lot about science

1. Jul 14, 2017 #1
    Hello. I'm not very good at reading, but I want to get better. I like science a lot, so, I want to maybe get some science books to enlarge my knowledge base and improve my reading capabilities. I'm looking for some recommendations for good science books.

Some books I'm interested in: General Science, Physics, Astronomy, Chemistry.

BTW, I'm a beginner with science, so I really have no idea about anything in science.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2017 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

How old are you? Where are you in school? What math have you taken?

4. Jul 14, 2017 #3

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

In my opinion these are two contradicting goals you have there. To improve your reading it might be better to chose a field in which you're firm and which doesn't need so many secondary and third thoughts beside of what is written like science does. So novels might be a better choice with respect to this goal.

To learn something about science, you could either read popular books, which are easier to read but leave out at least 90% of what really matters, or scientific textbooks, which are by no means easy to read and usually follow a grading, which means they assume the reader knows a lot of basics in mathematics as well as in physics.
    I you chose the first path, then the various books by S.Hawking or M.Kaku might be of interest to you. A while ago it was "Gödel, Escher, Bach" by D.Hofstadter or "Fermat's last theorem" by S.Singh. Nowadays it's more books like Hawking's "A Brief Theory of Time". However, none of those are actually science. They are written to give a broad readership an insight into science. They are very good appetizers.