1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Induced Voltage of Rotating Circular Loop

1. Jul 27, 2017 #1
    HI! I'm a student, this question appeared in one of the old tests. I though I had it solved but apparently I must have missed somewhere. Could someone please at least hint me where I went wrong?

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Thin wire is wound into circular frame with radius ## r = 0.05m ## which uniformly rotates around axis with ## \omega = 45 rad/s ## in homogeneous magnetic field ## B = 0.1 T ##. Compute induced voltage ## 0.003 s ## after magnetic dipole of a loop is perpendicular to magnetic field lines.

2. Relevant equations
    ## U_i = B S \omega \sin{(\omega t)} ##

3. The attempt at a solution
    First I used upper equation (only the ## B S \omega ## part) to compute amplitude of induced voltage which yields ## U_0 \approx 0.0353 V##. Next I tried plugging ## t = 0.003 ## into full equation which returned ## \approx 0.00476 V ##. There are 4 options available (you chose the one which is correct), however, I surprisingly found out that this result is not among 4 possible answers.

Two "plausible" answers are ## 0.035 V ## (which is presumably the amplitude) and ## 0.0217 V ## which seems to be the correct result. The rest are ## 0.0637 V ## and ## 0.0438 V##, but they should be excluded because induced voltage cannot take values higher than amplitude, right?

Now, in order for #0.0217# to stand, ## \sin{\omega t} = 0.63 ## thus ## \omega t = 0.68 rad ##. This would occur when ## t \approx 0.015s## and not at given ##0.003s##!