Can Infinity Multiply by Zero to Create Something Out of Nothing?

• Thread starter Ben Elohim
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Infinity
In summary: Could not this also be the reason why the two different sides of the equations are not "equivalent" (as you put it)?It seems to me that if we are going to apply "rules", we should at least try to apply the "rules" that are actually relevant to the context.In summary, the conversation is discussing the concept of infinity and its relationship to division by zero. The speaker, who is a civil engineer with some college education in mathematics, is asking a theological question about the idea of creation out of nothing. They propose that if X/0 equals infinity, then Infinity x 0 must equal X. However, the other person in the conversation explains that infinity is not a regular real
Ben Elohim
I am a Civil Engineer so I have some college education in mathematics and Calculus. But I am also an old fart so it has been quite a few years since my head had to use this stuff seriously (my work never required it). I tell you this so that you know I am a partial dummy and not a total dummy. As a believer in God, I am asking this question to relate to a theological question (i.e. Creation Ex Nihilo, creation out of nothing).

As you know, the smaller you make a denominator/divisor "B", the larger the answer "A":

C/B = A ---->Value A increases as value B decreases

Hence as B approaches "zero," value A becomes massively large, relatively speaking.

IF B = "0" is to create an "undefined" answer on your calculator.

However, is the "undefinable result" not actually the concept of "Positive Infinity" given C is a positive value, since "Infinity" is indeed an "undefinable" thing.

...since 0 is an "infinitely small," value 'A' must be infinitely "big."

1. Is this correct?

X/0 = +INFINITY (where X is a positive value).

2. If so, is this then correct?

IF X/0 = Infinity

THEN, cannot we also say:

(INFINITY) x (0) = X