Integration of dx^2: A Medical Doctor's Exploration

• Thread starter drwajih
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Integration
In summary: You could try to come up with a new method to calculate the circumference. It's a bit of a challenge, but it's definitely doable.Thanks for the input!In summary, the parabola equation is y = x2, but when integration is done dy/dx = x and dy = x.dx. If we make small right angled triangles under the parabola with the base dx then the height of the triangles will be dy. The hypotenuse (dh) of the triangles will be dh2 = (dx)2 + (dy)2. dh2 = (dx)2 + (x.dx)2. dh2 = (dx)2 (1 + x2). If we
drwajih
Hello, I am a medical doctor but interested in mathematics and physics. Consider a parabola with its equation y = x2
dy/dx = 2x
and dy = 2x.dx
If we make small right angled triangles under the parabola with the base dx then the height of the triangles will be dy. The hypotenuse (dh) of the triangles will be
dh2 = (dx)2 + (dy)2
dh2 = (dx)2 + (2x.dx)2
dh2 = (dx)2 (1 + 4x2)
if we integrate dh it will give us the sum of squares of the small pieces of the curve, which is parabola here (Sh2).

Sh2 = ∫ 1 + 4x2.dx2

But I have been told that it is not allowed in calculus to integrate dx squared. Can some one please shed some light on it? Thank you.

Last edited:
  • Love
Likes DW4RD3N
Physics news on Phys.org
drwajih said:
Hello, I am a medical doctor but interested in mathematics and physics.

Well, I'm a medical doctor too. So, hi there! :smile:

Consider a parabola with its equation y = x2
dy/dx = x

Well, that's wrong. [itex]\frac{dy}{dx} = 2x[/itex]

and dy = x.dx
If we make small right angled triangles under the parabola with the base dx then the height of the triangles will be dy. The hypotenuse (dh) of the triangles will be
dh2 = (dx)2 + (dy)2
dh2 = (dx)2 + (x.dx)2
dh2 = (dx)2 (1 + x2)

Up to here, there's nothing fundamentally wrong, except that the expression should read: