High school student losing interest in physics - What to do?

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student who has been interested in physics for three years but is now doubting if they should pursue a career in it. They discuss the reasons for their declining interest and the senior physics major advises them to keep their options open and explore other careers. They also suggest reading more about physics and visiting labs or planetariums to reignite their interest. The conversation concludes by reassuring the student that it's okay to not be interested in physics and to pursue something else if they find it more interesting.
Meron
I'm a high school student who has been interested in physics for 3 years. But these days I feel like I'm losing interest. This is making me doubt if I should really pursue a career in Physics. What should I do?

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, it's good to find out now before you put in much effort to get somewhere you have no interest in.

Why do you think you're losing interest? Do you have a reason?

I'm not sure. I feel interested but the interest is not as strong as it used to be.

I am in your situation but a senior physics major in college. I loved physics because I loved how it explains the crazy world we live in. I'm sure you read tons of stuff by Tyson, Hawking, and Kaku. I lost interest because these mind blowing topics were full of intense mathematical foundations that were the furthest thing from interesting. Keep your options open, but keep physics in mind. The analytical skills learned in it can be useful in almost every profession. High school is a great opportunity to explore potential careers without commitment, don't narrow yourself to a certain profession because most people change majors.

Thanks John!

It's actually not a crime to not be interested in physics! :nb)