Interested in different scientific field as senior

In summary: Experimenting is really important in research, so make sure you're doing things that you're passionate about and that you find interesting.
leemanjoo
Hello, this is my first time being in Physics Forum.

I am a 4th year student majoring in Astronomy and Physics at a university.
I decided to major in them because I was interested and I wanted to go to grad school for astrophysics and eventually stepping into academia.
Recently, I have been questioning my interest in the field, and the meaningfulness of the study I am doing.
Don't get me wrong, Astronomy is fascinating and I enjoy it, but I looked at the direct contribution to the society and the financial possibility.
With this in mind, I searched for different areas within science that is more applicable to technology.
I am starting to get interested in Condensed Matter Physics, which is probably the closest one with I have been doing with my physics degree, and Nanotechnology.

I will definitely want to go to grad school for these, but especially for nanotechnology, I heard that knowing chemistry would be really useful, but I have never taken chemistry (except for AP Chem in high school).
I also have not done any research related to these fields. My research experience is mostly for Astronomy and Plasma Physics.

Keep in mind that I will be taking a gap year after graduating, and I am hoping to do some kind of research related to CMP or Nano.

Do you think it's too late to get into these fields with only having Astro background? Should I just go with Astronomy to get into good grad school?
Or do you think having a gap year to do good research would allow me to pursue CMP or Nano at a good grad program?

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org