Is Freelancing Feasible Without Experience?

• Other
  • Thread starter KamenRiderTorbjorn
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Thinking
In summary: This is true. They also want to know what you can write. Web design? FPGA programming? Games? Database reports?It is highly unlikely that after one or two years the OP is equally good - and hire-ably good - in every possible area. He might be in one, but the fact he didn't specify which one in his original post does not bode well.In grad school I did some part time work. I did not go through an agency because I had more work than I could handle. My niche was small businesses ($2M-$10M/year) who had bought some turn-key solution and needed it modified, usually involving some statistics which I also handled. As an
KamenRiderTorbjorn
So I've been teaching myself how to code for the past year or so and I was thinking about doing freelancing. Since I have no experience is me being a freelancer feasible?

Physics news on Phys.org
Probably not "I've been teaching myself how to code for the past year" is a long way to from "coding well enough that someone will pay me for it" which is different from "coding well enough to make a living at it".

Your habit of asking the same questions over and over again (which` people can see from the "show threads" on your profile page) will not serve you well in freelancing. If I hired someone who asked me what the output file format is once, I'd be glad he was paying attention. If he had to ask me twice, I probably would hire someone else next time. If he asked me three times, I'd probably hire someone else immediately.

Last edited:
Likes CalcNerd and russ_watters
It is quite clear to me that this is a very bad idea for you. Have you heard the descriptive term self-starter? Some folks prefer more structure, and I think you are in the second category.

Likes CalcNerd, Vanadium 50 and russ_watters
Vanadium 50 said: