Joule-Thomson Coeff. For Air at High dP

• Thread starter Tom C
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Air
In summary, the conversation is about studying compressed air flow through a valve at a high pressure differential of 3000psig to atmosphere. The air can be either saturated at 3000 psig or dried to a dew point of -10 deg F. The purpose is to calculate the temperature of the air stream at the valve exit, assuming the flow is isenthalpic. The equation used is µ = (dT/dP) at constant enthalpy. However, tabulations of µ for air at various high and low pressures have not been found. Suggestions for an online source or alternative method, such as using enthalpy tables, are welcomed. A potential source for this information is the REFPROP program, but it is expensive and does
Tom C
I am studying compressed air flow through a valve at a high pressure differential (3000psig to atmosphere). The air will be saturated at 3000 psig and in other circumstances it will be dried to a dew point of -10 deg F.

My purpose is to calculate the temperature of the air stream at the valve exit and will assume the flow is isenthalpic. The simple equation I would prefer to start with is :
µ = (dT/dP) at constant enthalpy

However, I have not been able to find tabulations of µ for air at at various high and low pressure. Can anyone refer an on-line source for this information?

I suppose an alternative method would be to use enthalpy tables, but can't find enthalpy tables for air at the high pressure condition either.

Suggestions and alternate ideas for solution are gladly received.
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Tom C said:
I am studying compressed air flow through a valve at a high pressure differential (3000psig to atmosphere). The air will be saturated at 3000 psig and in other circumstances it will be dried to a dew point of -10 deg F.