Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Legendre Differential Equation

1. Oct 12, 2016 #1
    I just started learning Legendre Differential Equation. From what I learn the solutions to it is the Legendre polynomial.

For the legendre DE, what is the l in it? Is it like a variable like y and x, just a different variable instead?

Legendre Differential Equation: $$(1-x^2) \frac{d^2y}{dx^2} - 2x\frac{dy}{dx} + l(l+1)y = 0$$

But what is the differences between the associated Legendre polynomial and unassociated Legendre polynomial? When do we use the associated one or the unassociated one, since both are solutions to the Legendre Differential Equation?

Unassociated Legendre Polynomial: $$P_l(x) = \sum^M_{m=0}(-1)^m\frac{(2l-2m)!}{2^lm!(l-m)!(l-2m)!}x^{l-2m}$$

Associated Legendre Polynomial: $$P^m_l(x) = (-1)^m(1-x^2)^{m/2}\frac{d^m}{dx^m}(P_l(x))$$

Lastly, where did the m come from?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 12, 2016 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

4. Oct 17, 2016 #3
    How did you get from (8) to (12)?
    $$\sum^\infty_{n=0} n(n-1) a_nx^{x-2} ⇒ \sum^\infty_{n=0} (n+2)(n+1) a_{n+2} x^n$$

Shouldnt it be $$\sum^\infty_{n=0} (n+2)(n+1) a_{n+2} x^n + 6a_{-2}x^{-4} +2a_{-1}x^{-3}$$ cause you replace n with n+2?

Besides how do you find the value for a0 and a1 after getting (17)?
    Sorry for these questions as I am still new to this.

5. Oct 17, 2016 #4

Mark44

The first three terms of the series on the left are ##0(-1)a_0x^{-2} + 1(0)a_1x^{-1} + 2(1)a_2x^0 ##, so you can discard the first two terms, as their coefficients are both zero. The first term of the series on the right is ##2(1)a_2x^0##, so now you can adjust the starting index of the series on the left, replacing n by n + 2.

6. Oct 17, 2016 #5
    Thanks. But how to know the value of a0 and a1? Cause without knowing them, I can't use them to form the solutions (23)&(24).

7. Oct 17, 2016 #6

Mark44