Lifting an elephant with hydraulics

Hey guys, I'm a super amateur at physics, but I occasionally like to calculate random problems that pop into my head.

Today I was thinking about pascal and hydraulics, and wondered if I could devise a (hypothetical) hydraulic system that would allow my weight to lift an elephant.

I want to see if this is correct... or way off...

I figured I could use Pascals idea that the ratio of Area (in) / Area (out) would be equal to Force (in) / Force (out)

Total back of a napkin calculation but.... I researched an elephants weight to be 6000kg (or 60,000 N) - African elephant of course...

My weights about 80 kg (800 N)

The rough area of the platform an elephant could fit on is 3m x 2m (6m^2)

Feeding this into my equation I got that I would need my side of the piston to be about 0.08 m^2 for my weight to equal the elephants.

Could this be achieved by having a platform I stand on (that is the same area as my feet together) which is then attached to a 0.08m^2 piston... or does it not work that way...

Also, if anyone can explain why this whole thing works on a deeper level - like conservation laws and all that, I'd be really curious, as I find this whole system really counter intuitive.

Thanks guys!

Answers and Replies

Nugatory
Mentor
Your numbers are about right (but next time you take on a thought experiment like this, either assume an 8000 kg elephant or plan on sticking 20 kg of lead in your pockets, because 100:1 is easier to calculate with than 75:1). There may be practical problems in building a two-meter by three-meter hydraulic cylinder, but the idea is sound in principle.