Light takes the path of most time elapsed?

In summary, Fermat's principle states that light takes the path of least time between two points in space.
AntiElephant
Hi, I'm sorry if this is the wrong section. My Dad keeps telling me that light takes the path of most time elapsed between two points, and he remembers hearing this because it's counter intuitive. I'm a Physics undergrad myself but I can't see if and how there's any truth behind this. I've searched and found nothing even equivalent to this fact. So if it were to be true I can only imagine it's from post-graduate/research level work or from a module I haven't taken. The only thing I can guess is that light is a quantum mechanical particle and hence takes every path from A to B, but the probability of taking anything but path of shortest time elapsed is so low that it practically never takes it? Again, the statement wouldn't make sense to everything I already know, but that doesn't exclude the fact there may be some technicality where we can observe light taking the path of most time elapsed?

Any links to sources would be appreciated.

Science news on Phys.org
The straight-line (aka geodesic) path between any two events is the path that maximizes the perceived time (aka proper time) of someone traveling from the one event to the other. [If you deviate from the straight line path, time dilation reduces the total amount of time experienced].

Light follows straight line paths.

In the context of curved space, a geodesic is only locally straight. Accordingly, a geodesic path may only locally maximize proper time. For example, consider the analogy that there are two "straight line" paths from New York to Boston on the surface of the earth. Both are "locally straight" in that they do not deviate to the right or left. But one goes the long way around.

Last edited:
AntiElephant said:
<snip> light takes the path of most time elapsed between two points, <snip>