Linear metal expansion - For an Old timer

In summary: The co-efficient of expansion for aluminum is 22.2 x (10 power -6) m/m K. That means for every degree Celcius it is heated, each metre of length (and thickness) expands by 0.0000222 metres (i.e., by 0.0222 mm). So a 100°C rise would see each metre of it stretch by 2.22mm.
DHA
Hi all

I am a newbie here, so please go gentle

It is along time since I have had to use Thermal Co-efficients of expansion for various metals.

However, I am trying to tie in some figures I have been given to what I know to be reality.
i am sure that I am doing something basically wrong, or the whole theory of such science will hve to be re-written

Now I know that aluminium expands at a rate of 1 or 2 mm per metre ( depending on colour ) I am involved here with the flashings on buildings , so thicknesses from 0.9mm to 3mm thick )

Given that knowledge ( unless the building industry is wrong ) I have been given a co-eff of 22.2 x (10 power -6) m/m K (Not sure how to get -6 as supertext )

How do I relate that back to a dimension of 2mm or so that I am familiar with ( I am sure I can not count the right number of zeros ) but hey it's well over 40 years since I did this and a good 50 since I did it at school

Much appreciated

A confused Old Timer

DHA
PS Perhaps I should add ~ I am moving decimal point 6 places to left, then 3 to right (to bring to mm ) obviously wrong as it is no where near ??

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
When you say 1-2mm expansion for 1 m bar, what is the temperature change producing this expansion?

given a co-eff of 22.2 x (10 power -6) m/m K
Hi DHA! http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/5725/red5e5etimes5e5e45e5e25.gif

That means for every degree Celcius it is heated, each metre of length (and thickness) expands by 0.0000222 metres (i.e., by 0.0222 mm).

So a 100°C rise would see each metre of it stretch by 2.22mm.

Last edited by a moderator:
OK Forgot about temp difference, How thick am I ?

Thanks