Liquid Flow Calculation out of a pressurized tank

In summary, a chemical transport engineer is seeking assistance in calculating discharge times for a large cylindrical tanker carrying various liquid chemicals. The discharge process involves maintaining an over pressure of air in the tank and draining the fluid through a hose into an open tank. The engineer is unsure how to account for the over pressure and wonders if it should be added to the force of gravity.
Evan Jones
I am an engineer who needs to help my chemical transport girl friend with a little basic physics. It has been about 35 years since basic physics for me so I am rusty. She wants to understand how to calculate the following:

She drives a large tanker (cylindrical) which carries a variety of liquid chemicals and wants to understand how to calculate the discharge times. When they discharge the chemicals at the destination, they pump (and maintain) an over pressure of air in the tank during the discharge process. The fluid drains through a hose into an open (non-pressurized) tank. I know the fluid properties of the various chemicals, I just need to see if anyone can assist with the calculation. Am I just adding the force of the over pressure to the force due to gravity? If this were an open tank, I know how to make that calculation from the tank, through the hoses, and into the destination tank. I just don't understand how to account for the over pressure.

Physics news on Phys.org
The answer to your question is Yes.

1. How is the liquid flow rate calculated from a pressurized tank?

The liquid flow rate from a pressurized tank can be calculated by using the Bernoulli's equation, which takes into account factors such as the tank's pressure, height, and cross-sectional area of the outlet. The equation is: