Lorentz force acting upon an electron moving in a circle

In summary, in electromagnetism, when a magnetic field is applied to a ferromagnetic substance, the atoms' individual magnetic moments align to create a macroscopic magnetic moment. This can lead to confusion about the role of the Lorentz force and the concept of centripetal acceleration, as the magnetic moment is a fixed property and any acceleration is a fiction. Therefore, the increase in centripetal acceleration does not necessarily lead to an increase in speed and can cause confusion in the interpretation of the Lorentz force.
Ale_Rodo
So as the summary suggests, I am studying Electromagnetism, magnetic properties of matter and Magnetization vector in particular.

As a first example and to introduce the Magnetization vector (M), my textbook shows a ferromagnetic substance in a uniform magnetic field (B).
Then, every atom of the substance is oversimplified as a single electron moving in a circle, having its own magnetic moment (m) macroscopically being zero because of thermic agitation when no B is applied. When we apply said B, all those ms will point averagely in one direction, creating a macroscopic magnetic moment mtot≠0.

My question is:
when no B is applied, a single atom of the ferromagnetic substance will still move in a circle (which I know is a simplification) and will have a centripetal acceleration (ac) with magnitude ac = v2/R, with R being the radius of such a circumference and v the speed of the electron.
If we now apply B properly, the Lorentz force should act on the electron in such a way that ac increases, and I assume that for this reason also v increases.

But if v increases then it varies with time in such a way that causes the Lorentz force to increase, leading to an indefinite loop that causes the speed to diverge to infinity.

Can someone please explain what is wrong with this reason? Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Ale_Rodo said: