Magnetic Levitation for Fragrance Dispenser | Product Design

In summary: North/South) will determine the frequency of the vibrations in the coil. If the spacing is wrong, the vibrations will be out of tune and cause instability. However, if the spacing is correct, the magnets will oscillate at a specific frequency and the vibrations of the coil will cause the magnets to remain in the same place. This is a variant of Earnshaw's theorem. No matter how you arrange magnets, there will always be some direction of force on the magnets, apart from a few specific points - but you can never place a magnet with infinite precision. The best you can do is getting close to such a point, and then keeping it there actively with variable electromagnets.
KC Kian Chong
Hi everyone, I'm a student who is currently majoring in product design. Therefore, pardon me for not having any physics knowledge but I'm really appreciate for your help ! I wanted to come out with a fragrance dispenser by using magnetic levitation. I've watched a lots of videos but I don't really understand the process of making.

Based on my understanding, all i need to do is put a huge magnet at the bottom then for the levitating part use a small magnet which is in a opposite pole.

So, my questions:
1. Can I use a random magnet ? Or is it the must to use the round huge magnet with a hole in the middle.
2. I found a product which is known as "FLYTE" can anyone explain to me how does the designer created the levitating effect ? If possible can someone please draw an exploded view for this product ? Here's the link of the product https://flyte.se/

Physics news on Phys.org
:welcome:
KC Kian Chong said:
1. Can I use a random magnet ? Or is it the must to use the round huge magnet with a hole in the middle.
A magnet is a magnet. It shouldn't need a hole in the middle.

KC Kian Chong said: