Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Magnetic Levitation

1. Mar 21, 2017 #1
    Hi everyone, I'm a student who is currently majoring in product design. Therefore, pardon me for not having any physics knowledge but I'm really appreciate for your help ! I wanted to come out with a fragrance dispenser by using magnetic levitation. I've watched a lots of videos but I don't really understand the process of making.

Based on my understanding, all i need to do is put a huge magnet at the bottom then for the levitating part use a small magnet which is in a opposite pole.

So, my questions:
    1. Can I use a random magnet ? Or is it the must to use the round huge magnet with a hole in the middle.
    2. I found a product which is known as "FLYTE" can anyone explain to me how does the designer created the levitating effect ? If possible can someone please draw an exploded view for this product ? Here's the link of the product https://flyte.se/

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 21, 2017 #2
    :welcome:
    A magnet is a magnet. It shouldn't need a hole in the middle.

4. Mar 21, 2017 #3

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

The small magnet will flip, and then get attracted by the big magnet.

Magnetic levitation will need one of those elements:
    - active electromagnets controlling the position (the approach flyte is using)
    - some point of contact of the levitated object (so it is not completely free)
    - rotation of something, typically the levitated object
    - superconductors
    - strong permanent magnets and very exotic lightweight diamagnetic materials that can't carry any additional load
    - strong electromagnets and diamagnetic materials

5. Mar 21, 2017 #4