MP2 vs. HF Method Explanation for Beginners

• I
  • Thread starter physicisttobe
  • Start date
In summary, the differences between HF and MP2 are that MP2 is a more accurate approximation of the molecular Hamiltonian, and it uses a more complicated mathematical equation to calculate the corrections.
physicisttobe
TL;DR Summary
Computational physics
Hi everyone!

I am currently researching the difference between HF and MP2, but I have not found a detailed explanation that has helped me. I am not a computational researcher, which is why I have struggled to understand the difference between them. I am quite new in this field, so I need a simple explanation. What are the differences between MP2 and HF? Which optimization method is better and why? The explanations on the internet were too complicated for me. I really couldn´t understand the difference between these two methods. So, can you explain me that? I would be very pleased to receive your answers.

Physics news on Phys.org
High Frequency and Military Police 2? Well, where do I start...? :wink:

• Haha
Likes tech99, Vanadium 50, sophiecentaur and 1 other person
Oh, sorry. HF means Hartree Fock and MP2 means Møller–Plesset perturbation theory.

Likes Baluncore, topsquark and berkeman
(I’ll try to keep this I level; feel free to ask questions.)

They’re both approximations to the molecular Hamiltonian (or nuclear Hamiltonian, but I’m a chemistry guy, so we’re sticking with molecules).

The molecular Hamiltonian has three parts: a nuclear part, which can usually be parametrized under the Born-Oppenheimer approximation, a nuclear-electron interaction, and an electron-electron interaction.