Multivariable Calculus Maple Help

In summary: Pi, axes = boxed, color = black);> l := length(spacecurve(r));> c := length(spacecurve(r'));> K := sqrt(l*c);The curvature function of this space curve is constructed via the following formula: 1. Let r(t) = (cost, sint). Graph in maple r(t) for 0<t<2п.2. Write in maple, in vector form r’(t) and r’
Mbruinsma
1. I am working on an assignment in maple for my Calc 3 class. It seems really simple, but I have no experience using Maple. Any help would be very much appreciated.

PART 1: 3D – VECTORS IN MAPLE
1. Let u= i + 2j. Define a vector v. Draw the two vectors in a Maple graph.
2. Use Maple to compute the dot product of u and v.
3. Use Maple to compute the length of both vectors without using a formula that involves the vector components.
4. Using 2 and 3, write a formula for computing the angle between u and v.
5. Use the formula to compute the angle in radians, and also in degrees.
6. Find a vector w that is perpendicular to v. Use Maple to prove that w and v are perpendicular.
7. Graph both vectors in Maple to visualize that the angle between them is a right angle.

I started by setting u:=([1,2]). I then made a vector v:=([2,1]) (Does it matter what vector I use? I just chose 2i+j) How can I graph this and how do I do the dot product?

Thanks for Any help you can give me!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Mbruinsma said:
1. I am working on an assignment in maple for my Calc 3 class. It seems really simple, but I have no experience using Maple. Any help would be very much appreciated.

PART 1: 3D – VECTORS IN MAPLE
1. Let u= i + 2j. Define a vector v. Draw the two vectors in a Maple graph.
2. Use Maple to compute the dot product of u and v.
3. Use Maple to compute the length of both vectors without using a formula that involves the vector components.
4. Using 2 and 3, write a formula for computing the angle between u and v.
5. Use the formula to compute the angle in radians, and also in degrees.