Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Neutral potential ground difference

1. Feb 27, 2017 #1
    Im studying a application where multiple 12V input voltage are coming into a circuit board, i was told that optocouplers are use to neutral the potential ground difference of the input 12V from various appliances. can someone explain to me how does the potential ground of each appliances varies and how the optocoupler helps to neutral the potential difference.
    thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 27, 2017 #2
    Most appliance that use or generate a 12VDC power or signal will already have that signal isolated. In other words, if you measured the impedance from the 12V signal or its local ground to earth ground, you would discover that it was very high - well over 1MOhms.

However, there are conditions where these 12VDC signals may not share the same ground and may be indirectly tied together though shared circuits or through grounding issues.

So, for example, if you look at the signal from source "A" by comparing the source "A" signal (Sa) with the source "A" ground (Ga) you will get the signal you expect. And the same for signals "B" (Sb,Gb) and "C" (Sc,Gc). But is you try to tie those grounds together, you could get some very high current conditions. For example, you might discover that there is a 120VAC difference between Ag and Bg.

So, by using opto-isolators, you can encode each signal into an IR level and read that IR level using circuitry with your local ground. Since there are no electrical connection between your signal monitoring circuit and circuits A, B, and C, there is no problem with possible currents among those circuits.

Let's take a specific example: