Win Nobel Prize in Physics with Electrical Engineering?

In summary: Remember that the prize is awarded for a discovery, the background of the person(s) who made that discovery doesn't matter.Sure I agree with f95toli. I am bit awakward to ask this but may i know from any person what field of electrical engineering can bring nobel prize. I am pretty sure communication/DSP won't get it. I am thinking of may be semiconductor physics,solid state physics may bring it...but i doubt if there is any discovery or new thing left on this field. Just wandering what particular subject/branch one should concentrate in EE?It doesn't work like that. There are several examples of
rajendraranabha
Hey guys,
I did my bachelor in electronics and telecommunication engineering. I am planning to do MS and phd probably in electrical field. I have just one quick question..can somebody doing electrical engineering can win nobel prize in physics. I am sure they might consider it as applied physics.But my question is what subject we should concentrate instead I guess its more on semiconductor,solid state physics, laser etc? Lately this question has really knock my head. Or should i instead go for MS and phd in physics itself now thought its very late?
Please give honest reply as this things been keep hiting my head for a long time and I am bit serious of it.Thanks..

Physics news on Phys.org
rajendraranabha said:
Hey guys,
I did my bachelor in electronics and telecommunication engineering. I am planning to do MS and phd probably in electrical field. I have just one quick question..can somebody doing electrical engineering can win nobel prize in physics. I am sure they might consider it as applied physics.But my question is what subject we should concentrate instead I guess its more on semiconductor,solid state physics, laser etc? Lately this question has really knock my head. Or should i instead go for MS and phd in physics itself now thought its very late?