Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nuetron star collapses to B.H., a final plunge of matter and energy?

1. Nov 9, 2009 #1
    The moment before a neutron star collapses matter is distributed across the whole volume of the neutron star?

Can we say anything of the actual collapse, such as matter moves towards the center of the neutron star?

Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 10, 2009 #2

mathman

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Not really. What goes on inside a black hole is an open question of physics theory. Quantum theory and general relativity are in conflict here.

4. Nov 11, 2009 #3
    Spinnor was not asking what happens inside a black hole. He was asking what happens just before a black hole forms, as a neutron star collapses from say 9/8Rs towards r= Rs.

5. Nov 11, 2009 #4

mathman

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I am no expert on the specifics here, but I know in the case of white dwarfs you end up with a Supernova Ia explosion. I suspect something similar will happen for neutron stars.

6. Nov 11, 2009 #5

pervect

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I'm not quite sure what the OP was asking, or why....

7. Nov 11, 2009 #6
    I did want to know what happens after collapse. I do have this picture of matter no longer being able to resist the collapse, after adding enough matter to a neutron star, and the matter "actually" moving towards the center. Is this correct, I don't know if General Relativity allows us to calculate what goes on during collapse.

Thanks for the help!

8. Nov 11, 2009 #7
    I thought my title said it all,

Neutron star collapses to B.H., a final plunge of matter and energy?

Thanks.

9. Nov 11, 2009 #8
    From Gravitation, page 863, realistic gravitational collapse-an overview: