Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Numerical integration in matlab

1. May 6, 2010 #1
    i am very new in matlab. and i need to calculate the arc lengh. My equation is
    arc length = integration of sqrt(d.*(k.^2-2).*sin(k.*t./2).^2 - d.*(k.^2-1).*sin(k.*t./2).^4 + 1); from 0 to 2.pi
    where, d=(0:.1:1) and k=(0:1:10)

can anybody tell me whether it is possible to calculate this arc length using matlab. If possible can you suggest me the coding to write the script?

thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. May 7, 2010 #2

MATLABdude

Science Advisor

Welcome to PhysicsForums!

First off, are you integrating over k, or over t? Do you just want arclengths for different values of k?

Secondly, there are two ways of doing this: trapezoid rule, or with Simpson's rule.

Given a vector of x, and an array of y, you can use MATLAB's trapz function:
    http://www.mathworks.com/access/helpdesk/help/techdoc/ref/trapz.html

With a function handle (see inside the documentation page for a link--think of it as an inline function), you can use the MATLAB quad function:
    http://www.mathworks.com/access/helpdesk/help/techdoc/ref/quad.html

4. May 9, 2010 #3
    i am integrating with repest to t. and yes i want arclength for different values of k as well as d.
    for example: when d=.1, k=1:1:10, this will give me 10 different value of arclength.
    when d=.2, k=1:1:10, this will again give me another 10 differenct value of arclength.
    until d=1.

i have tried with the following to apply Z = trapz(X,Y).
    >> x= 0:2*pi/100:2*pi;
    >> k=(1:.1:10);
    >> y=sqrt(1+0.1.*(k.^2-2).*sin(k.*x./2).^2-0.1.*(k.^2-1).*sin(k.*x./2).^4);
    but this line give me an error msg.
    ??? Error using ==> times
    Matrix dimensions must agree.