Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Off beat question about grad school!

1. Feb 14, 2010 #1
    I have a different sort of question about grad school. I graduated from university over 25 years ago and recently decided to go back and do a PhD in math. I will start in the fall. I was just wondering, how do graduate student carry their books and supplies? Backpack? A Bag? By hand? I don't really remember what I used in college...

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 14, 2010 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Books? What are books? :smile:

I left my books in my office and carried a single folder with loose leaf paper for notes. After the class, I would rewrite the notes if necessary, and place them in a binder. That works even today.

4. Feb 14, 2010 #3
    Whatever works for you. The grad students (and professors) I know use anything from a purse/tote to a messenger bag to a bookbag. I'm planning to use a messenger bag 'cause that's what I've been using since elementary school, but it's really totally a matter of preference/comfort. Neither grad course I'm taking/sitting in on this semester requires a book, and very few courses in general require students to bring books to class.

I basically do the same when my class is in the same building as my lab, but next year my courses are gonna be half way across the city.

5. Feb 14, 2010 #4

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Do you mean between home and office or between office and class? Between office and class, I, too, used a folder. Between home and office, I used (and still use) a backpack. I prefer not to carry stuff (books, bags, etc.) with my hands when I walk any distance. As a grad student, I had a twenty-five minute walk between home and office, and I currently get off my bus about seventeen minutes from home.

In any case, good luck!