Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Old Physics Apparatuses - Identification Help

1. Jun 13, 2012 #1
    Hello,

I am an undergrad in my senior year at a small liberal arts college. This summer, I have been given the task of assessing our physics labs. Specifically, we have a lot of old equipment that the professors don't know much about, and they would like me to find out if it works anymore. After some Google searches, I have not been able to come up with anything for a few particular apparatuses. Would this be an appropriate place to post some pictures of the equipment, in the hopes that someone can help me identify it?

Thank you in advance for your help!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 13, 2012 #2

krd

Post some pictures, let's see what you've got at your liberal arts college.

4. Jun 13, 2012 #3

Danger

Gold Member

If it has a zipper and a kick-starter, your arts college is too liberal.

5. Jun 13, 2012 #4

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I can't wait! If it's made of Mahogany and Brass, so much the better!

6. Jun 13, 2012 #5
    Well, not necessarily mahogany and brass, but we do have some really old stuff. I believe some of it dates from the 40s. It is a possibility I'll find even older stuff hanging around though; I'm sure this thread will become longer as I find or am assigned more equipment to investigate :)

So, here's the first one:
    The only markings on it say Fisher Scientific 900725-065
    I can find no documentation/manuals on it anywhere in our labs, nor on the net.

Attached Files:

7. Jun 13, 2012 #6
    Here's the second one. This is the one I believe may be from the 40s.

Attached Files:

8. Jun 13, 2012 #7

Danger

Gold Member

It looks like some sort of optical comparitor, or perhaps a stereoscopic microscope... :confused:

edit: That's in response to the first. Now I'll look at the second.