What are some open source projects for gaining experience with Java?

In summary, if you are a computer science and applied math double major looking to gain experience and have something to show potential employers, you can get involved in open source projects such as developing physics simulations using Open Source Physics Java libraries or contributing to the Julia language project. You can also develop games or plugins for the open source processing tool. These projects can help you gain experience and showcase your skills without needing to be an expert.
toothpaste666
Hello everyone. I am a computer science and applied math double major. I want to get involved in an open source project so I can gain experience and so I have something to show potential employers that I worked on. I just created a GITHUB account and I am not an expert at using it, nor have I contributed to a project before, but I am pretty good at Java. Are there any good open source projects I can work on to gain experience. where I don't necessarily need to be an expert?

Technology news on Phys.org
You can develop physics simulations using the Open Source Physics Java libraries.

Www.compadre.org/osp

You could upload them to github and share with others via a google blog.

As an example, develop a game in java that uses real physics principles.

Alternatively, you could contribute to the Julia language project and gain some experience in using Julia for doing engineering or data analysis work. See www.julialang.org

Lastly, the processing code is open source and there may be some plugins you could do for the tool like extensions to do jruby, or clojure or Scala in the latest release of processing.

Www.processing.org

1. What is the definition of an "Open Source Java Project"?