Partial Derivatives multivariable

In summary, the gradient is a vector that describes the change in a spatial variable over time. In physics, the gradient is always in terms of position coordinates: x,y,z in rectangular (Cartesian) coordinates, r,θ,φ in spherical coordinates, etc. For non-Cartesian coordinates, the formula for the gradient is different than above, partly to ensure that each component has the same units. Usually in physics the gradient implies a derivative of spatial coordinates only.
PFuser1232
I am quite new to the topic of multivariable calculus. I came across the concept of "gradient" (∇), and although the treatment was somewhat slapdash, I think I got the hang of it. Consider the following case:

##z = f(x,y,t)##

##∇z = \frac{∂z}{∂t} + \frac{∂z}{∂y} + \frac{∂z}{∂x}##

If we're dealing with a physical scenario, wherein the variables x, y and t have different units, how is it possible to compute ∇z?

Physics news on Phys.org
MohammedRady97 said:
z=f(x,y,t)z = f(x,y,t)

z=∂zt+∂zy+∂zx∇z = \frac{∂z}{∂t} + \frac{∂z}{∂y} + \frac{∂z}{∂x}

No, the gradient is a vector. Each partial derivative is one component of the vector, and is multiplied by the unit vector in that direction. Also, I've never seen anyone use t (time) as part of a gradient (at least not in physics!) so I'll use u = f(x,y,z) instead: $$\vec \nabla u = \frac{\partial u}{\partial x} \hat x + \frac{\partial u}{\partial y} \hat y + \frac{\partial u}{\partial z} \hat z$$ Compare this to a generic vector $$\vec A = A_x \hat x + A_y \hat y + A_z \hat z$$ (Maybe your textbook uses ##\hat i##, ##\hat j##, ##\hat k## for the unit vectors instead of ##\hat x##, ##\hat y##, ##\hat z##)

MohammedRady97 said:
If we're dealing with a physical scenario, wherein the variables x, y and t have different units, how is it possible to compute ∇z?