Physics of Boomerangs: Learn Moment of Inertia Calculation

• Thread starter RicardoMarques
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, Ricardo is a new member of a Physics forum who joined to get information for his paper on "The Physics of Boomerangs." He found a topic on the forum where someone was explaining how to calculate the moment of inertia for a boomerang model. He had some difficulty understanding the last part and asked for clarification, which was provided. He also asked about calculating angular momentum and proving that a boomerang returns, but it was suggested that this would be a more complicated problem involving aerodynamics and other factors. A link to a paper on the topic was also provided.
RicardoMarques
Member advised to use the homework template for posts in the homework sections of PF.
Im new at this Physics forum and i don't quite know anyone here.
I came here because I'm doing a paper about "The Physics of Boomerangs" and so i found a topic about it where you explained a guy how to calculate the moment of inertia on a simple model of a boomerang.

https://www.physicsforums.com/threa...rtia-for-wierdly-shaped-objects.503476/page-2

However, I didnt understand the last part, about the end of the calculus. Gneill said I new = I + M.r^2 . So I use that formula 1/12 x M(a^2+b^2) and then add M x r^2 ? And after that you multiply by 3 ? In that case scenario r = 5.4 ?

Greetings from Portugal

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Ricardo.

In future please use the formatting template that is provided in the edit window when a new thread is started in a homework forum. Don't delete it!

The model boomerang in question consisted of three identical rectangular vanes that were arranged at 120° angle separation, and overlapped at the center (presumably glued together). Here's the picture provided by the original poster of the thread in question:

dscf7654-1-jpg.36095.jpg

RicardoMarques said: