1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Places to visit in the UK for physicists!

1. Oct 24, 2005 #1

haushofer

Science Advisor

Hi, I'm a Dutch Physics student, and I'm organising, with some other people, a trip to the UK next year ( somewhere in May ). Ofcourse study-oriented :) I have, ofcourse, already looked at the internet for some interesting must-see's for physicists, like universities , companies etc. Though I am a theoretical physicist, the trip is organised via my studentassociation, and that association is technical oriented (We call it technical physics, but I think most of the people would call it engineering). The idea is to go for a week or so,and Cambridge and Oxford are high priorities. Does anybody has some good advices, experiences etc? Many thanks in forward!

I'm quite new here, so if the topic isn't at the right place, don't hesitate to recplace it.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2005 #2

matthyaouw

Gold Member

4. Oct 24, 2005 #3

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

haushofer : It might be best if you individually message or email certain members here. We can help provide a list.

matt grime - he's in Cambridge, and though he's a mathematician, he'll likely have good advice/ideas

brewnog - recent alumnus of UMIST and an engineer; don't see him around very much lately, but UMIST is a really good place for applied physics/engg.

jcsd - is either in theoretical physics or math...somewhere in the UK

El Hombre Invisible - I'm not sure what he is, but I think he's Brit.

I'm sure there's more folks around...

5. Oct 24, 2005 #4

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

6. Oct 25, 2005 #5

haushofer

Science Advisor