Polarization of light using Mueller matrix

In summary, the paper states that light can be polarized using a half wave plate, however, when the angle of polarization is changed, the polarization changes as well.
Nur Ziadah
Hi everyone
First of all, I am a computer science student and I have a question regarding the polarization of light as stated in an article entitled "Multi-stage quantum secure communication using polarization hopping" by Rifai et al.,2015.
Given the Mueller matrix:
upload_2018-7-17_23-6-47.png

The input of light state is:
upload_2018-7-17_23-8-46.png

And lastly, the operation to produce the output of light after it go through a half wave plate:
upload_2018-7-17_23-10-37.png

After I do the calculation, the S_out for the θx=0° is [1 1 0 0] meaning that the light is horizontally polarized. However, when the θx=45°, I didn't get the vertical light polarization [1 -1 0 0] as stated in wikipedia:
upload_2018-7-17_23-27-30.png

This is the result of my calculation using Python programming language:
upload_2018-7-17_23-24-43.png

It seems that my vertical polarization of light is wrong. I hope that anyone may help me to clarify this problem.
Thank you so much & regards.

Attachments

• upload_2018-7-17_23-6-47.png
    upload_2018-7-17_23-6-47.png
    4.3 KB · Views: 772
  • upload_2018-7-17_23-8-46.png
    upload_2018-7-17_23-8-46.png
    3 KB · Views: 438
  • upload_2018-7-17_23-10-37.png
    upload_2018-7-17_23-10-37.png
    4.8 KB · Views: 405
  • upload_2018-7-17_23-19-46.png
    upload_2018-7-17_23-19-46.png
    1.2 KB · Views: 398
  • upload_2018-7-17_23-24-43.png
    upload_2018-7-17_23-24-43.png
    1.2 KB · Views: 447
  • upload_2018-7-17_23-27-30.png
    upload_2018-7-17_23-27-30.png
    2.3 KB · Views: 454
Science news on Phys.org
Nur Ziadah said:
Hi everyone