Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pressure in a 2" pipe branching into four 1" pipes

1. Oct 8, 2018 #1
    Hello all,
    I am an Electronics Engineer, working in an R&D Organisation specializing in Electronics and Advanced Computing. My area of work is Control & Instrumentation related to Industrial Automation.

I am trying to identify the a solenoid valve to be used on a 2" pipe. For this I need to know the pressure in the pipe.
    Water flowing in a pipe of 2" diameter is branching into 4 pipes having 1" diameter. At the output of the 4 pipes there is a sprinkler, which works at a pressure of 120 psi. The main pipe is connected to a pump having 10 HP motor. i.e. Water pumped from a 10 HP Pump flows through a 2" diameter pipe and branches into 4 pipes of 1" diameter before flowing out through sprinklers.

I would like to know the pressure in the 2" Main Pipe.

Thanks in advance.
    Regards
    Senju Panicker

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2018 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2017 Award

Hello Senju, :welcome:

Here at PF we always encourage some poster initiative. Did you google a few things ? If so, what popped up ?

Your question doesn't constitute a complete problem statement: pipe lengths, flow rates, geometry ?

4. Oct 8, 2018 #3
    And pump characteristics (flow vs head), sprinkler characteristics (orifice size, dP vs flow), probably more info once an analysis begins.

5. Oct 8, 2018 #4

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

If this is a real sprinkler system and 120psi is the in operation pressure (that would be a lot - is it static?), the piping loss is unlikely to add significantly to that.

...however if this is more than an academic exercise, you're likely required to do a full fledged hydraulic calc and get it stamped by a professional engineer.

6. Oct 11, 2018 #5