1 pipe branching into 3 pipes, pressure of each branch?

In summary, two mechanical engineers discuss a question about fluid mechanics, specifically about what happens to pressure in a pipe network with multiple branches. They hypothesize that pressure will stay the same in each branch, citing Bernoulli's Principle and conservation of energy. They also mention the possibility of pressure increasing due to a decrease in velocity. The conversation ends with one engineer suggesting a simplification to help clarify the situation.
kingneptune11
Hello all,

I am a mechanical engineer, graduated just last year. Although I am not working with fluid mechanics right now, I was browsing through my fluids book from school and saw the section on pipe networks. As I was reading, I developed this question which I could not find an answer to in the book.

Please see the attached image below.

Pipe_Network_Question.png

Please note, for my question, let's assume perfect world conditions (all pipes same diameter, all leg lengths are equal, no frictional major/minor losses, etc...)

In the image, you can see we have one inlet, with pressure P_in and flow rate Q_in. My question is about what happens when you branch out into the three branches. I realize that flow rate will split evenly (in a perfect world), but what happens to the pressures?

Keep in mind, the three branches are open to atmosphere. Due to this, I realize there will be a pressure gradient, with the exit pressure reaching 0 (atmosphere). But let's say I am asking about the pressures at each of the branches inlets. Does P_in = P_1 = P_2 = P_3 in an ideal world?