Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programming tip needed

1. Sep 22, 2005 #1
    Programming tip needed :)

Well this is the story,
    I have to create a game similar to this one

Code (Text):
    http://www.windowsgames.co.uk/mother.html
    I'm sure it's not a big deal, but thing is I'm majoring in hardware, so I'm kinda back on programming issues. So I was wondering if anyone can give me some tips on what to use to implement such a thing :)
    Thanks a ton!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2005 #2
    Anyone????

4. Sep 23, 2005 #3
    What exactly is your question? Do you need a language suggestion? Do you need help with implementation? You will get a lot more help if you ask a pointed question i.e. why wont this code work, or how do I use this windows API...

The question you are asking is akin to "How do I write a program like Half-Life?" Well, the short answer is practice, practice, practice.

Good luck with your project. Sorry no one has jumped on this yet; however, I can almost guarantee if you ask a more direct question then you will most certainly get an answer.

5. Sep 23, 2005 #4
  6. Sep 23, 2005 #5

I'm sure that a this game is nothing to compare to half life, but anyway, to rephrase, the question was : Can anyone give me some tips on how to start to implement a copy of this game? Which is better, C++ or Java in such a case? How important is the use of DirectX in implementation?
    Just something to get me started, maybe when I actually start I can come back with more focused questions!

Cheers

7. Sep 23, 2005 #6
    AFAIK most programmers use C++ for game development but I guess you can do it in Java or most other object oriented programming languages too. If you use use java you can expect your game to react a bit slower... I guess that's why most programmers use C++... it's sort of "real time".