Deriving Current from Drift Velocity Basics

In summary, the conversation discusses the derivation of a formula for calculating the current carried by a conductor. The formula involves the number of charge carriers per unit volume, the drift velocity of the charge carriers, and the area of the conductor. The conversation also includes a step-by-step explanation of how to understand and use the formula.
Scopesys
I've been sitting at my desk trying to prove this and nothing, already tried googling.. Any help guys? I want to know how to derive it from basic principles.
Thanks

How I came by it: I'm a high school student and was doing my exam then get asked about drift velocity and it's not even in the syllabus and hence in not in any of my books >_<

All I could find on it is===>

This formula is used to calculate the current carried by a conductor in which we know the charge carrier density and the drift velocity of the charge carriers

I: current
n: # of charge carriers per unit volume
q: charge
v: drift velocity
A: area of conductor in which charges are moving

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org