PWM Circuit and DC motor problems (for NYE ball drop project)

In summary, the conversation revolves around the creation of a New Year's Eve ball-drop using a motorized controlled-release lit-up ball. The circuit is being built using an online schematic and includes a high-speed motor, variable power supply, and a pot. There is an issue with the pot burning out and it has been replaced with a 25 ohm pot, but it still gets hot when turned up. The person is seeking help with troubleshooting the circuit and making modifications to increase the frequency of the motor turning on. There is some discussion about the wiring and potential errors, as well as the suitability of the replacement pot.
froggy365
Hi all,

This is my first time making a somewhat complicated circuit, with the help of an online schematic. (http://www.dprg.org/tutorials/2005-11a/index.html )

My goal is to make a New Year's Eve ball-drop, which has a motorized controlled-release lit-up ball (on a separate power cable). All of the mechanics are in place, so the only issue I currently have is troubleshooting the electronics on the circuit. I have a variable power supply from 3V-12V at 1A. The motor I am using is a high-speed 18,000 RPM motor that operates from 9V-18V, at a maximum of 1.9A.

I initially used the schematic that I have provided the link for, but the 100K pot burned out, so I replaced it with a 25 ohm 3-watt pot, and that seems to be handling the current better; although, when I turn this pot up, it gets very hot, and apparently can only work at lower resistances.