Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum entanglement, is it real?

1. Sep 24, 2014 #1
    Disclaimer, i'm no scientists, and i know enough to get my self into trouble, however

Every time i hear about quantum or quantum computers or such, and its experimental data, its never proved in my mind that the particles where ever in superposition (if that's the tight terminology).

every now and again i read some science news on quantum teleportation and the experiment they have setup, and they claim by looking at one entangled particle they can tell the state of its entangled photon when spatially separated

i.e. i set up an experiment, someone gives me 2 cards (red and black), i put them face together, spin them around, and separate them, then someone looks at one card, it collapses the wave function and i can instantly tell what the other card is , 1 light year away instantly. no spooky action at a distance

Question : double slit experiment aside (cool stuff), how are these entanglement experiments proving that the entangling of a particle has not preset the states of the particles in opposite states before the separation

I'm sure there is more diligence in these experiments than the above comments give credit however, i really would like to understand from my perspective and believe they hype

Has anyone got a links to an experiment or such that easily shows that 2 particles are actually entangled in superposition and can show categorically, that such is the case, or do i need to undertake a physics degree

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 24, 2014 #2

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Its because that assumption leads to conclusions different to experiment - technically its given the name local realism - and is precisely what experiment shows is wrong:
    http://www.drchinese.com/David/EPR_Bell_Aspect.htm

Thanks
    Bill

4. Sep 24, 2014 #3

DrChinese