Quantum Mechanics for Physics Undergrads: Where to Start?

• Thread starter poobar
  • Start date
In summary, for those interested in learning about quantum mechanics before taking a course, some recommended resources include textbooks such as Griffith's, Gasiorowicz's, or Townshend's, as well as the book "Understanding Quantum Physics" by Michel A. Morrison. However, for a more advanced introduction, the book "Quantum Mechanics Demystified" by David McMahon may also be a good option. Ultimately, it may be helpful to preview the textbook for the course and see which style or approach resonates best with the individual's learning style.
poobar
Hey all,
I am a current physics undergrad. Next semester I will be taking a course which covers quantum mechanics. I am really interested in the subject and want to do some reading and learning before I take the course. I am strong in calculus and I just completed a course in differential equations. Can you give me a good place to start/good website to read?

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Your best bet is to probably buy your textbook early and crack it open.

As suggestions:

Griffith's is not a standard for QM, but it's a popular book. Unfortunately, it is lacking in its coverage of bra ket notation, which is very important.

Gasiorowicz is better with teaching bra-kets and operator algebra. However, it reads like a summary. I don't think it is anywhere near as well written as Griffiths.

I have also heard good things about Townshend's book, but have not read it myself.

in my opinion there are perfect book to start with Quantum physics and Quantum mechanics "understanding quantum physics to Michel A. Morrison" the book not shallow and not complicated

poobar said:
Hey all,