Exploring the Intricacies of Quark Spin in Physics

In summary: So we use statistics and find out the predicted values in the macroscopic limit. We observe the macroscopic effects and thus show that they agree with the predictions of QM.
cam875
ive been reading a bit about this and its blowing my mind a bit lol. To think that the spin of a quark has something to do with whether or not something will hapen and the opposite reaction will co-exist in another universe sounds crazy. When it says spin does it mean rotational spin sort of like our planet? I am wondering what real physicists have to say about this topic seeing as I am just a high school student interested I am not really justified in my thought here.

Physics news on Phys.org
"Spin" doesn't really mean something is spinning. Electrons as far as we can tell are point-particles, so it doesn't make sense to say they are spinning.

But particles do have some intrinsic angular momentum associated with them, and we refer to that as spin. It's just there. You can't stop it like you could stop a ball from spinning.

Electrons do "move" around atoms and gain extra angular momentum (like Earth orbiting the Sun), but in that case it depends on which electron shell the atom is in and in what position. And if you take the electron away from the atom, the angular momentum is gone. You can't do that with Spin.

Moreover, all particles have spin. Quarks, Electrons, Protons, and Neutrons have Spin 1/2. Photons and Gluons have Spin 1. There are some neat rules regarding Spin. If two particles have Spin 1/2, they can't be in the same state (i.e. energy level and position). That's why you can only have 2 atoms in the first electron shell of an atom. One electron is Spin +1/2, the other Spin -1/2. When you move up in electron shells, they start going to different places. This is just a flavor, though, and I'm really simplifying it.