Questions about light speed, time, and dimensions.

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of time having more than one dimension and its relationship with the speed of light. The conversation also delves into the idea of time stopping and how it is perceived in different scenarios. The experts explain the difference between coordinate time and proper time, as well as the constancy of the speed of light in a vacuum. They also mention the role of gravity in bending light and how it affects calculations. The conversation ends with the suggestion of reading a book for a better understanding of the topic.
YoungDreamer
I am not a scientist just an observer and enthusiast.

We have 3 spatial dimensions and one dimension of time. What I have been wondering is...
could time have more than one dimension? I mean we percieve time as a continuous line, but can time move in other ways that we cannot percieve, like backwards. If so could this be another dimension of time?
Time can slow down and speed up in certain high gravity scenarios, can time stop?

When we look at distant objects in the universe we see them as they were when the light we are seeing left them, which could be millions of years. So this brings me to my next question, and I'm sure the answer is probably somewhere in Einstiens work, but are time and the speed of light related, aside from the fact that I just mentioned. If its easier to just point out a site that I should read instead of writing out the answers please do so.

Physics news on Phys.org
Take a look at this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time-space#Privileged_character_of_3.2B1_spacetime