Questions about Waves, Circuits, and Magnetism

In summary: I don't see how that's homework. It's asking for explanations and understanding of concepts, not just an answer to a specific problem. And it's not a direct copy and paste of the conversation, as I've added my own explanations and clarifications.In summary, the conversation touches on various physics concepts such as waves, circuits, thermal physics, and electromagnetism. The forum member is seeking help in understanding these concepts, particularly in regards to the distances between resonances in waves, the behavior of circuits compared to water circuits, Kirchoff's Laws, the use of thermocouples in measuring temperature, the exclusion of macro kinetic and potential energy in internal energy, the definition of potential energy and its relation to boiling, and the concept
guinsooms
Hi all.

I am a student taking A levels, I was hoping the forumites here could help me answer some doubts that I have regarding the concepts above.

1) Waves

It was mentioned that the distances between resonances are half a wavelength.

For example, in a water tube with a sound source above the water, the first point of resonance is x. The next point of resonance is x + λ/2. How is this expression derived?

2) Circuits

Why there no potential drop when no current flows? Quantitatively this holds true, but how you understand it qualitatively?

3) Circuits

In the most simplified sense, how you do understand Kirchkoff's Laws of Circuits and what are its implications on the circuit equations?

4) Circuits

In a galvanometer circuit (one where a rod with resistance is used to measure the emf on an unknown source), why doesn't current flow between the primary and the secondary circuit when their potentials are similar?

5) Thermal Physics