Is Time Similar to Space in Terms of Identity and Limitations?

• Thread starter Dooga Blackrazor
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary: This coordinate system is conventionally labelled 'space-time' and it is the standard framework in which we describe the behaviour of objects in the physical world.
Dooga Blackrazor
I don't have a physics background so be as generous as you like in assuming my ignorance. I am studying philosophy and, currently, the idea of identity existing through time. I have an argument that suggests identity can't exist through time because time is a property of objects that changes, thus, making the objects no longer identical.

To get a better understanding of my own argument, I need a better understanding of time. Time is a 4th dimension with respect to space. Can I treat time in a way similar to how I treat space. For instance, an object can't exist in two places at once because of spatial limitations. Can I assume time and space are attached in such a way as you could use coordinates to describe them (space x,y,z, at time "t")?'

Physics news on Phys.org
Dooga Blackrazor said:
I don't have a physics background so be as generous as you like in assuming my ignorance. I am studying philosophy and, currently, the idea of identity existing through time. I have an argument that suggests identity can't exist through time because time is a property of objects that changes, thus, making the objects no longer identical.
I'd say that spatial configurations are continually changing. Ponderable objects are bounded systems. The boundaries of some systems are more persistent than others.

Dooga Blackrazor said: