Recommendation for a classical thermodynamics book

In summary, the experienced forum members suggest the following: 1. Thermodynamics and statistical thermodynamics by Peter T. Landsberg, Dover Pubs.2. Fermi's book is quite good (and inexpensive).3. The statistical physics volume of the Berkeley Physics Course is brillant (written by F. Reiff).
shihab-kol
Hello!
I am a high school student and I would need some guidance regarding a thermodynamics book. I am reading and solving through these three:
1.Resnick,Halliday and Walker
2.University Physics- Young and Freedman
3.An introduction to mechanics-Kleppner and Kolenkow(purely for mechanics)
Based on these can the experienced forum members c suggest something?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'd start with the thermodynamics chapters in RH & W.

I liked Y C

Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics by Moran et al. A wonderful book. I highly recommend.

Thank you for the suggestions .
By the way, Daverz I have finished both Resnick and Halliday and Young and Freedman.
What is 'Y C' though ?I searched the net but found only YVC Rao , is that what you meant ?
Also , I had forgotten but on my physics instructors advice I have been reading through Ilya Prigogine.
Thanks.

No, I meant Yunus Cengel. I posted in a challenging manner to find out who was meant with RH&W :smile:

[edit] I discover I also read the original post most perfunctorily o:) You want to consider what flavour of thermo suits you best: the one going towards statistical mechanics or some more application orientation.
I (physicist) also found Peter Atkins Physical chemistry very good.

Last edited:
BvU said:
No, I meant Yunus Cengel. I posted in a challenging manner to find out who was meant with RH&W :smile:
You want to consider what flavour of thermo suits you best: the one going towards statistical mechanics or some more application orientation.
I (physicist) also found Peter Atkins Physical chemistry very good.