Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Reference book for mathematics in relativity

1. May 30, 2012 #1

Axe

Please suggest a good book which deals with the whole mathematical description of relativity (special theory as well as general theory, with tensor analysis). Also it would be much appreciated if the description was not very concise, as i am not an expert in the subject. Much Appreciated. :)

2. jcsd
  3. May 30, 2012 #2

haushofer

Science Advisor

Nakahara's "Geometry and topology in Physics" is imo a very nice compromise between physical application and mathematical rigor.

4. May 30, 2012 #3

Axe

Thank you. I will have a look. But what exactly does this book cover? Does it cover the entire aspect of general relativity?

5. May 30, 2012 #4
    I've found that the book Vector Analysis With and Introduction to Tensor Analysis by A. P. Wills (a Dover Publication) presents the material very effectively, and covers all the material needed to study GR. I'm not sure whether it is still in print, but you may be able to get a copy from Amazon.

Chet

6. May 30, 2012 #5

Axe

Thanks Chet. But as the name suggests, is it just a book on tensors??? or it analyzes GR in advance, like defining the structure of space according to GR.

7. May 30, 2012 #6
    It is something in-between. It explicitly anticipates that the reader will probably be studying GR, and includes sections on multidimensional manifolds, curved manifolds, parallel transport of vectors, covariant differentiation, Riemann tensor, Ricci-Einstein tensor, curvature scalar. One thing I like about the development is that it consistently carries the coordinate base vectors and base one form vectors (aka reciprocal basis vectors) throughout. As an engineer, this works well for me.