Relation of EM radiation equation to radioactive decay

In summary, the student asked how the equation for a radiating electric field from an accelerating charged particle relates to radiation from radioactive elements, and my answer was that they would not be related. For alpha and beta radiation, I was less sure, but gamma radiation is part of the EM spectrum, so where does it come from during radioactive decay?
zgoddard3
Hello,

I am a Mechanical Engineering student but I am a TA for an electricity and magnetism course, and I had a student ask a question that's a little bit outside my understanding. The question was related to the equation for a radiating electric field from an accelerating charged particle:

Erad = 1/(4πε0) * -qa/c2r

This is an equation we always teach at the end of the course, but never go into much detail on it, and I myself have never really explored it much further.

The question my student asked was how this equation relates to radiation from radioactive elements. For alpha and beta radiation my answer was that they would not be related, since they are particles with mass, and not EM radiation. For gamma radiation, I was less sure. I remember from chemistry that excited electrons release a photon when falling back to a lower energy level. I was thinking that when the electron changes orbit it would have a sudden change in velocity causing the release of the EM wave. Is this on the right track and would anyone have a good answer that I could give to my student and future students who might have the same question?

Science news on Phys.org
Accelerated charges generate EM radiation, a.k.a. photons. Radioactive decay produces alpha "radiation" (Helium nuclei), beta "radiation" (electrons and positrons), gamma "radiation" (photons) and neutrino "radiation". The EM radiation that is emitted when electrons jump to a lower orbit is not considered radioactivity as the aforementioned products of radioactive decay emanate from the nucleus.