Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relativity question

1. Feb 12, 2016 #1
    Hello,
    I have no background in physics, but I understand the very basic concepts.
    I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but it is searing in my head.

Q: if time is relative to the observer, are there any cases where an observer perceives our ( meaning us on earth) space time to move slower, just as I would experience the time passed by an astronaut moving close the the speed of light as less?
    Is this dictated by the rate of speed and gravity of earth? Would our time on earth appear to pass slower to an observer on a body moving slower and with less gravity, say Pluto.

I guess the basic question here is, what is the opposite of the speed of light, what is slow?

I know this is serious forum, I'm sorry if this is a simple question,many thanks you for any answers,
    Thanks,
    Andre

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 12, 2016 #2
    GPS systems clocks need to be time adjusted by microseconds due to time dilation.
    This arises because the satellite clocks are less deeply immersed in Earth's gravity field than are clocks on the surface.
    If this was not accounted for the apparent position of objects on Earth could by highly inaccurate.

4. Feb 12, 2016 #3
    Hello Rootone
    Thank you very much for the answer.
    I guess what I want to know, is if the same extreme in time dilation can be encountered opposite the speed of light. Not merely microseconds, but on the level of the twin paradox. What conditions would need to exist on the opposite end. Is there anything in the universe that is influence in such a manner as to have its relative perception of our time seem as though we are our space time is moving slow relatively.

5. Feb 12, 2016 #4

PeterDonis

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor