1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relativity text for Physics Olympiad

1. Sep 14, 2007 #1
    Hi,

I'm a 12th grade student from India, preparing for the Physics Olympiad. I've only a basic idea of Special Relativity, while the syllabus includes topics such as the relativistic Doppler effect, so I want to study up a bit. What text do you recommend? Please not one of those old texts starting from Einstein's postulates. I prefer the modern geometric approach starting from the invariance of the Minkowski metric. Thanks.

Molu

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2007 #2

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Landau & Lifsh!tz - Classical Fields

4. Sep 15, 2007 #3
    But that's pretty advanced, integrating classical electrodynamics and general relativity. Anyway, I haven't been able to find the Landau Lif****z books either in Kolkata or in the internet, no one has even heard of them.

Molu

5. Sep 15, 2007 #4

mjsd

Homework Helper

did u mean "The classical theory of fields" by L. D. Landau And E.M. Lifsh!tz?
    this is an older book.

6. Sep 15, 2007 #5

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Google Books has a preview with most of the first two chapters.

http://books.google.com/books?id=QI...=Google+Search&sa=X&oi=print&ct=title#PPP1,M1

I think your two criteria (introductory + not historical development) are almost mutually exclusive. I can't recall how Resnick's SR book goes - I'm guessing it probably follows the Einsteinian path, but I think it's still pretty good for a first text. And I'm pretty sure there's a paperback edition that's sold in India.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2007
  7. Sep 15, 2007 #6

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member